My Sister Abby (Part 33)

Okay, let me be honest. I hid. I ran straight into my room when I got home, and I didn’t come out until school the next morning. We had a quick conversation that went something along the lines of “Hey, I didn’t see you come in last night!”
“Well, you know.”
“How’s your boyfriend?”
“He’s alright. What about yours?”
“Stellar!”
I didn’t stick around to find out what that meant. After I ran from the room on some excuse I can’t even remember, we didn’t talk again until after school. That’s the good news.
The bad news is that I wasn’t any more prepared after school than before.
And back to good news? Matt walked home with Abby.
Oh yeah, more bad news. He’s even more excited about the talent show than Abby.
And finally even worse news to top it off. Matt still hasn’t met my mom so I can’t complain to her about him. He’s seriously a jerk.
Anyway, I need to come up with some way to say this and fast. Maybe it would be best if I just came out and said it?
“Abby, I can’t do a song for your talent show.”
Yeah, not feeling it. Oh no. I said it out loud. I said it out loud and she’s right in front of me.
Two words. Syllables. Interjections. Well, one interjection. It’s hyphenated! Gimme a break!
(Just say the word!)
Uh-oh.

Leave a Reply

