My Sister Abby (Part 31)

I sat on my bed and stared at my wall. Song. Nathan. Talent show. Yep, still nothing.
The talent show was a month away. I didn’t have time to be drawing a blank. I’d tried everything, but nothing worked. The only title I could come up with was “Best Brother Ever” and you don’t even want to hear my lyric attempts.
Writing the tune only ended in me humming the Doctor Who theme song for ten minutes.
Basically, I was stumped, so I called Chad. I mean, what else is he there for? He makes me laugh when i feel like crying and he gives me ideas when I don’t have any. Today was no different.
“Chad? I don’t know what to write.” I lay back and stared at my ceiling.
“What do you want to write?”
I took a deep breath. “I just want it on record that you asked. I want to write a song that will tell Nathan how special he is, but I don’t want it to be cliche. I want to say that he’s my hero and I look up to him and I appreciate the way he’s always been there. Then I want to transition into how I want to be there for him now that I’m older or something like that. That’s part of the problem, I guess.”
I could almost hear him nod slowly. “So you aren’t going to say anything about his job?”
I sighed. “Do you think I should?”
“You don’t really want to do this do you?” He asked with a note of surprise.
“Of course I do!” I retorted, not sure at all what point he was trying to make.
“The time he spends with you is still more important to you than the time he spends on his new job. That’s what your problem is. You’re trying to write a song to tell him you should come second, but you haven’t convinced yourself yet. I know you, Jess; you can’t make your songs lie.”
I groaned. “Why can’t you just tell me what to write?” I asked. “Why do you have to make me face stuff like this?”
“You want to go for a drive?” He asked. This was a new thing. Instead of sitting on our curb, we went for drives to do our talking.
“Of course,” was always my answer. “I’ll be there in five minutes.”

Leave a Reply

