My Sister, Abby (Part 16)

“You can be glad you have one day with him every week.  I won’t be jealous,” was Abby’s only comment.  You know those people who you can really tell when they’re lying (usually because their mouths happen to be open)?  It was like that.

“Yeah, right.  Well, you’d hate church anyway.  They all talk about obeying God, and you don’t listen to anyone.  Oh, and all the girls are friends with Chad.”  I may have neglected to mention that all the guys were friends with him too, but at least I wasn’t lying like she was.

“No, they aren’t!”  From the way she was bristling up, I was forced to wonder what all had gone on while I was all but unconscious.  “He would have mentioned them if it were true!”

I really couldn’t help it, but that little person that yells “NO!” right before you speak only shows up when Chad’s looking at me, so I said it.  “Well, he didn’t mention them because he doesn’t notice the difference between friendship and flirtation, believing that everyone is as nice as him, which is probably why he tolerates you.”

“Jessica Lynn Pierce, you apologize right now!”

“No way!”  I turned around and ran outside, slamming the door on the way.  I would love to stop doing this, but they keep making me mad, and then that little voice is always gone, and voila!  I’m grounded for good.  Well, I figured, I might as well enjoy the freedom I’ve got until Abby’s mom gets out here, so I took a long walk all around the neighborhood.  When I got back, Chad was outside, so I ran down and we hung out for a couple of hours, just chilling.  Neither of us really felt like skateboarding.

As Murphy decreed, Abby came outside after the two hours were up, just when the sun was starting to glare in our eyes from behind the houses we’d been facing.

“Hey, Chad, what’s up?” she asked.  Then, pretending she noticed me just as he turned around, she added, “Oh, Jess!  What are you doing out here?  You’re grounded, remember?”

Chad raised an eyebrow.

I shrugged.  “This is the first I’ve heard about it!  And Abby, if you call me Jess again, you won’t be speaking for a month.”

“Well, you know better than to be as mean as you were.  You’d think that church would have put you in a better mood, but no!  What’s the first thing you do when you walk inside?  Insult me, and try to make me jealous!”  She turned to a thoroughly amused Chad, whose expression surprised both of us.  “What’s so funny?”

“You,” he answered simply, standing up.  “After all the attention you get as it is, you really don’t have to try that hard for more.  My side’s starting to hurt, so I’m going inside.  See you tomorrow, Jess.”

“Oh, sure.  Let him get away with calling you Jess, but threaten me when I do the same.”

“It’s simple, Abby.  He’s being friendly, you’re being a brat.  Now you probably need to get inside.  Your mom doesn’t like you to be outside when it’s getting dark.”  That sufficiently shut her up until she spilled her version of the conversation to her mom, getting me grounded for a week.

 

 

*NOTE: All characters and events portrayed in this story are purely fictitious.  Any resemblance to actual people or events is entirely coincidental.*

———

Next part next Thursday!  Suggestions, names for various characters, or other questions, comments, or concerns can be left below, or you can e-mail me at the address on my contact page.

If you really love my work, vote for one of my poems on TeenInk!  Every little bit helps!

Leave a Reply

