Time for a Deep Breath…

First off, let me say that I’d like to thank my mom…

No, really!

I somehow survived 9th grade, so thank you, Mom!  I’m getting way ahead of myself, however.

As I’m sure you are aware by now, I finished the school year this morning!  By some serious work, I somehow managed to get through all the work required (and most of the essays and projects) to finish with straight A’s!  (I know, I know…overachiever homeschooler mindset, but it’s the honest truth!)  Would you just quit interrupting me?  I’m trying to make a speech here!

Before you even start on how I’m typing, not talking, just stop!  I need to get through my appreciation section first!

I’d also like to thank Switched-on Schoolhouse for their (seriously terrible) curriculum, and their very helpful (which is totally sarcastic except for one instance) tech support, who I had to call every week for almost a month.

Next, I’d like to thank Toshiba (and my dad) for providing me with this computer to do all my work on.

I’d like to thank all my friends who were nice enough to distract me when my Skype status was “Do Not Disturb”, and the understanding friends who pulled up Google Translate so I could use Spanish while talking to them.

That brings me to the next program, Google, which I really need to thank for all their information on what happened during the science experiments I didn’t have the materials to do.  (Before you judge me, by looking at all of processes on university websites, I probably got a lot more out of the projects than I would have on my own.)

I’d like to thank all the people I wrote about in different papers (don’t worry, you don’t know who you are…yet…) and all the other people who made my life livable during the past eight or so months.

I would also like to send a very special thank you to BlimeyCow and the radio, for background music and refreshing weekly viewpoints that made my Mondays fine.

I’d thank the academy, but I’m homeschooled, so I suppose that part of the speech is at a close now.

As I think back on the past eight months, I am struck by just how much I’ve learned.  I know just how much school I can get done while a batch of cookies is in the oven.  I’ve learned how to get around science projects involving dry ice, and I know how to navigate my way through the geography of hundreds of countries I’ll never have to worry about again.  I now understand just how complicated and confusing Spanish grammar is, and I have been horrified by the things my English class has wanted me to do.  Namely, I have overstepped my own boundaries by being forced to dissect another poet’s work.  I can solve most problems in Algebra 1, and that is enough for me to take a summer break.

I am prepared to take anything life dishes out to me now that I have passed 9th grade, and I am very proud of my own accomplishments.

Now, for the serious part.  Yes, I finished my school year.  I really do want to thank God and my mom for helping me through, and now I’m going to spend my summer as a free person.

Oh, and I’d like to thank Ari for letting me become an administrator on her blog even though I’m not too good at it yet.  In the near future, for now, I will make the strange, unconnected posts, and Ari will make the nice, connected story posts.  I guess this is sort of my introduction post, and it really couldn’t have been timed better, so hi!  I’m happy, so this is a good time to meet me!  I can’t wait to talk more!

(Grace)

1 Comment

  1. You are sooooo welcome!! 🙂 Thank you for appreciating the work…..but, you did all the work on this one! 🙂 I am proud of you and the way that you have blossomed in taking responsibility this year! You are a good student and very intelligent! Remember to always use that intelligence for the Lord and bring Him glory in your life. I enjoyed your deep breath of appreciation!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

