To Be Announced…Announced!

I know, I know.  I couldn’t even take off all of April.  I’m totally addicted to writing!  Or maybe it’s just my lovely followers, *wink wink nudge nudge elbow elbow snort*

Whatever the case, I’m back early, and the weekly posts will continue as before with a few slight exceptions to be explained below, along with a little back story and the next excerpt.

I’m sorry we had to take this break, but Jessie and Chad were both busy recuperating from their traumatic experience, not to mention reeling from the shock of Abby coming to their aid.  It was much better to just leave them in peace.  Now that they’ve sufficiently recovered, however, and Jessie is paying her promised to Chad’s church, it would be cruel to hold back any longer.  So, without further ado, I’m finally announcing a title!

*Drum Roll*

Introducing, not for the first time, but for the first time under its new name, your favorite story, and mine, the one, the only…(at which point Humperdinck mutters, “Skip to the end!”)  Will you join me in welcoming (“Man and wife!  Say ‘Man and wife’!”)

MY SISTER, ABBY

No, I’m not introducing Abby again.  You know almost all about her already.  I’m introducing the title of the story, which is “My Sister, Abby”.  Abby, who  has been hanging around Chad constantly since he got out of the hospital, and who suddenly thinks that in this difficult time, with her dad in prison and all, maybe church is a good place for her to be.  You’ll find out about it next Thursday because I’ll be changing the post day to Thursdays, but, without further ado, “My Sister, Abby: Part 13”

 

 

It was a dark and stormy night.  No, really.  Well, not really, really, but in my mind it might as well have been.  My dad, or rather, Abby’s dad was in prison for more things than I can count, Abby wasn’t any nicer to me, although she was an angel to Chad, and my mom was angry at me because I wouldn’t forgive Abby for everything she’s ever done now that she called the police on her own dad.

I offered her a gold star, but that only got me stuck in my room for a week, which was really useless because I was already there under doctor’s orders.  The last thing I wanted to do was jump out of bed and run all the way to the high school and back.  From Abby’s daily reports, I knew that Chad was in about the same condition.

Now, though, was the last day I was grounded.  It’s Saturday night.  I’m going to church with Chad tomorrow morning, and I’m pretty sure I know how that will go.  If I’m wrong, someone besides Chad might notice that I’m there.  However, I expect to look like the only goof who doesn’t know any of their hymns or secret code words.  I’ll probably fall asleep while they’re all reciting their verses while Chad tries to get me to pay attention.  But honestly, they’ll just drone on and on and on.  I’m falling asleep just thinking about it!  But then, maybe that’s just the pain-killers.  Wait, no, it totally wouldn’t be the pain killers.  I don’t know where my brain is.

Sometimes it feels like the accident just happened and I’m reliving everything all over again, but I know that all of this happened a month ago.  I try to avoid looking in the mirror at the moment because I know I’ll see that scar dangerously close to both my right eye and my temple from where a piece of broken glass cut me while glancing past.

It doesn’t hurt anymore, at least not like it did.  I guess what I mean is that it doesn’t hurt physically.  Now I just have this obvious blemish all down the right side of my face.  I haven’t seen Chad, although Abby assures me he looks as adorable as ever.  It makes me wonder what exactly has been going on while I was under the weather and Chad was under the influence (of Abby, that is).

There’s almost nothing worse than being unable to sleep these days.  I can only see the worst possible situations.  One night, my dad breaks out of jail and murders us all in our sleep, which naturally ruins my rest when I do fall asleep.  Another night, Abby successfully turns Chad against me, and the only reason he ever wants to see me again is to tell me what he has now decided he really thinks about me.  Worst of all are the nights when all I can think is that the scar keeps growing and getting more and more hideous every second and by morning I look like Darth Sidious after fighting Mace Windu.

No matter the vision, I wake up in a cold sweat every night almost before I fall asleep.  Tonight is like any other, but now there are so many crazy possibilities for rejection tomorrow that it’s even worse.  I mean, what would happen if my dad showed up there?  And what if Abby decided to tag along?  Right now, the only reasons I want to go with Chad are the time I’ll spend away from Abby and the time out of the house I’ve been cooped up in for the past however long it’s been since the accident.   A month, right?

All that to say, if Abby came along, it would ruin everything!  Not that I have plans or anything, don’t get me wrong, but if I did, they would be destroyed!  Well, I do have plans, but they’re just to keep Chad out of Abby’s clutches, which I’ve been failing epically at lately.  Well, tomorrow’s gonna be another day.

————

Next part next Thursday!  Suggestions, names for various characters, or other questions, comments, or concerns can be left in the comments below, or you can e-mail me at the address on my contact page.

If you really love my work, vote for one of my poems on TeenInk!  Every little bit helps!

Leave a Reply

