To be Announced (Part 11)

“Alright, Smart Guy, got any more ideas?  Stalling didn’t exactly work,” I said from the floor as the car seemed to actually slow down a bit for the first time since it had started.

“Wasn’t that your idea?” he retorted, taking the opportunity to actually sit up right on the seat for a change.

I followed his example, trying to ignore the fact that last time I did that, it got us into the predicament we were in now.  “Actually, my idea was to talk to him while you stayed away and called the police so that this wouldn’t happen!”

He shrugged.  “Somehow, I get the idea that it doesn’t matter.  We would both be here anyway.”

I rolled my eyes.  “But where’s here?  Really, Chad, where are we?”

“How should I know?  I’m not a GPS!”

“I should think not!  Look how lost you’ve gotten us!”

“I’m sorry, what did I do to deserve all of the blame for everything that’s happening?”

He was nice, so I told the truth for once.  “You were there, and I’m not wanting to blame myself.”

Thankfully, he didn’t make a big deal out of hearing the truth.  That’s really good, because I’d suddenly realized that being stuck in this situation would mean that we should try to be friends, not tear each other up continually.  Despite my realization, if he had shown surprise at hearing the blatant truth, I would have lashed out at him dramatically.

“So, are you saying that it really isn’t my fault that we’re sort of being held hostage by a nationally hunted criminal?”

He certainly had a way with words.

“Of course it’s not your fault, Chad,” my dad said soothingly from the driver’s seat.  “Now, it doesn’t mean that you won’t die as soon as I get enough ransom to make up the bail my lawyer will make sure they set it at, but at least you’re buying that much time for yourself.”

Chad swallowed hard.  Leaning close, he whispered barely audibly next to my ear, “This doesn’t make us an accessory to crime, does it?”

I shrugged.  “I could care less.  Both my parents want to kill me right now, but they’ll kill each other first.  I’m not really worried about what will happen to us when we’re safe.”

“My worry is that we might not be,” he confided.

*NOTE: All characters and events portrayed in this story are purely fictitious.  Any resemblance to actual people or events is entirely coincidental.*

———

Next part next Friday!  Title suggestions, names for various characters, or other questions, comments, or concerns can be left below, or you can e-mail me at the address on my contact page.

 

If you really love my work, vote for one of my poems on TeenInk!  Every little bit helps!

Leave a Reply

