Why Do I Write?

Well, you asked why I write
(or at least I try to write)
a post for you every week.
I know it’s not the day I post
(or at least I try to post)
but I know the answer now
So I’ll just tell you today
(or at least I’ll try to tell)
because I love to write.

I write for the words themselves
(or I tell you what they say)
because someone has to say it.
They tell you what they tell me
(or I tell you what they say)
and I wouldn’t keep that from you.
I translate words from ancient languages
(or I tell you what they say)
so you can see the beauty.

That means I write for you, then
(although you couldn’t tell)
and that’s reason two.
I’m keeping track of the reasons
(although you couldn’t tell)
and this one’s all about you.
I know who you all are, I think
(although you couldn’t tell)
and you’re my inspiration and my audience both.

Lastly, I write for myself
(otherwise I’m blind)
so I can see or hear.
I write my feelings out in here
(otherwise I’m empty)
and somehow they become beautiful again.
I’ll always write these words
(otherwise I’m nothing)
because these words are me.

I write for the words.
I write for you.
I write for me.
I write.

Writing is a mirror in my life
(it took me long enough to see)
so I can know what I really am.
For a scary minute, I couldn’t write
(it took too long to get back)
and I realized the whole truth.
When you see the words, just remember
(it took me long enough to say it)
what you’re seeing is me.

I write because I am the words
(or at least I try to write)
I write for you, the readers
(or I write to help you see me)
I write for me because writing is me
(although you couldn’t tell)
I write because writing is real
(otherwise I’m no different for it)
I write because writing doesn’t have to be real
(it took me long enough to understand)
I write because without writing, I am nothing.
The only thing I can’t write is you.

I am writing.
What are you?

Leave a Reply

